top of page
  • Writer's picturePamela McRae-Dux

How has this past year impacted my writing?

How has this past year impacted my writing?


I have not felt much like writing new material until now. I am picking up where I left off in my writing practice. In my journal, I am risking talking to God. I am hoping for some wisdom to come my way and with this wisdom, I will continue in the exploration of writing for publication. I will hope that I will find some words.


We got our Covid Vaccinations March 3rd. I can walk now with a cane when I go out for errands. I believe my cancer is in remission for now. I want to do so much. I am exploring the ability to return to my stretching videos when I am able to focus. I want to get a medical massage for my muscles. Most of all I want the sadness to lift so that I can marvel at a sunrise, be enchanted by the snowfall, be grateful for some heat on zero degree days, and acknowledge how far I have come in the last year and in my life with a certainty that there is more good to come.


With all of this mixed up inside, I needed a project to anchor myself, so I created one.


I turned to some older pieces to self-publish with the intention to send copies to the closest of my friends who have seen me through this past year. I wanted to find a way to share love and have a legacy for the future through this project. I must say that when, at times, I dipped into the feeling of writing a memorial rather than a celebration of love and peace I had to keep going knowing the intention of the project is positive.


I have ordered the print copies of my books and they are listed on Amazon now. (Links given at the end of this piece) That is what I address at the moment.


I have writer friends who do not sit in uncomfortable feelings for long and are able to keep productivity and creativity up each week and each day. Thank God for them. They are like a beacon that shines and invites me to write and share.


I do not know how they fight off uncomfortable feelings so continually. I can do it for long periods of time and then some shock knocks me over and I cannot get back up again without great effort.


I look to what worked in the past and what never worked for me. I keep in touch with some other creative people in Facebook Groups. Today, a friend on the Creative Fire Cafe posted an article about the power of music to help during anxious times when our normal is disrupted by not knowing what is coming our way.


Another friend has started a weekly podcast on Creativity and living into our questions in life.


On a day like today, I am listening to the music of the playlist (from the article) for calming and it is helping. It is a good playlist.


Books now on Amazon:



37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page