top of page
  • Writer's picturePamela McRae-Dux

Social Media and Writing. How to blend them?

Updated: Sep 10, 2020

When writing to an audience we pick a topic or theme and find our way as we write our words. When I am at a loss for words, I use a sketch on my social media.


At this time, with very little outside contact, a lot of our ideas merge into stream of consciousness. Life and death are ever present, and acts of kindness are a welcome bit of news. Even when we are not the authors of these, we hope they touch us. All this brings us to words we may not want to share with the public and our readers. We edit more in this time.

Social media can be very personal or connected to interests expressed in our writing and other creative work. A sketch, a poem or a quote can say a lot. If we go too far into the personal, that can come back on us and shut us down completely. Coming back from this could be all but impossible. Nonetheless, we must always try to find our voice again.

The strong positive voice. The loving voice. Even when vulnerable as writers, we try to connect with that wholesome part of ourselves and write from that place.

If we are fortunate, the isolation imposed by the pandemic and the gradual reopening has not pushed us into full blown agoraphobia. Even if it has we need to face it - if only to take care of our basic needs. To remind myself, and all my readers of my intention in creating this website: "I am the publisher and the creator of these works and, as such, I am interested in connecting with you and other readers like you. It is in exploring our creativity, in creating some tangible work, and sharing it on a platform that is available to everyone that we grow as a Creative Community here on the planet. Much good can come from this. For in this endeavor we are spreading goodness, peace and hope in a time that needs our voice. In my exploration and in my writing, I will continue to encourage each new creative subscriber to bring out their gifts and talents and share them with the world - no matter the response or lack thereof."

If Social media has become a place to air our concerns, maybe we can use it as a platform of strength as well. For myself, I have to start over in my communication, as this time period we are still coming through has all but silenced me. We do not know how long the effects of the pandemic will reverberate in all our lives. I will endeavor to use my social media for topics around "growing the creative community" and my artwork.

I see others of religious faith turning to church leaders for guidance. I applaud that and also turn to the Dalai Lama and his friend Bishop Desmond Tutu. Here is a link to a reading and photos that call on us to remember we are one human family - albeit one who has lost many members - and to to trust this will work out.

I am writing to let you know I am still here and I hope the best for all of us.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page