top of page
  • Writer's picturePamela McRae-Dux

Can Our Writing Help Us During a Crisis?

Updated: Sep 10, 2020

I am writing this while our state of Missouri is locked down. This is a personal blogpost to help with a difficult time. There are many writers that are offering good words to uplift others during this time and many heroes that are stepping up to serve others.

For those who are not in a position to do so or under extra stress I had a thought. Reminding ourselves of our value as creative beings by looking back over our work when times were better and we were living fully in a lighted place. Could this bring us through this time back to a lighted place? I hope so.

I needed to look at some sharing I was able to do as a member at gratefulness.org. I only share there when I have an uplifted point of view. I would like to share this with all of you as it was true at the time. Perhaps it can become true again.

Gratefulness has become my practice.

Compassion is mine to learn.

Kindness is a valid way to walk through this life.

I notice that when I am rested I can remain in the arena of blessings. I also notice that I do better as an anonymous voice. I appreciate seeing that this is a daily practice that is easier if we take all the good that comes our way and allow it to flow out even to those who might harbor a negativity towards us. Blessings, like water, can carve a path through stone. By passing them on we melt hearts and minds of those we are fortunate to meet on the path.

You know, I have a “retablo” of Saint Martha in my kitchen. She reminds me that all kitchen activities are sacred gestures to bless those who will enjoy the good taste of the food and these activities are work that brings me great happiness. Kitchen noises center me like a prayer and are a connection to God. I am with the Creator in working with my hands.

I know that looking into the eyes of a deer crossing the property, a feral cat blinking and coming close for food, a coyote in the distance prowling a neighborhood that was once undeveloped land or into the eyes of an injured bird resting in my hand until it is ready to take off, I come in contact with the sacred life force that runs through us all. In that moment, peace enters my heart and I am strengthened knowing that my journey to embody the divine and angelic in my being is still going on.

I remember writing these paragraphs and want to nurture that place inside even when times are tough.

Sharing can be difficult from a place of anxiety and fear. However, it is important to find a few good friends who will allow us to share anyway.

What writing of yours can rekindle hope and creativity in you? You can light a candle to that? Hope could help you find your way.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page